Evaluation of Drawing approaches unit

Evaluation of Drawing approaches unit

Over the course of the ‘Drawing approaches’ unit I have had an opportunity to try on the number of new techniques and processes to produce an image. At the start of the unit my definition of drawing was as stated: “Drawing is series of marks produced with any medium on any surface.” As we were required to be original and innovative in our concepts, I have decided to come out of my comfort zone focusing on the chosen theme ‘Nurture’. I have experimented with a range of materials and various drawing approaches unfamiliar to me before, for example, found drawings, automatic drawing and sculpting.

Being interested in these marks, lines, textures and colours that create an image in my surroundings, I always carry a camera on me to capture them. This resulting in my unintentional practice of the drawing approach I later learned to be called ‘Found drawings’.

By-products of other processes, organic forms or discarded materials – images arising by accident rather than from any conscious process. (Sawdon, P. ) [Internet] Available from: http://www.lboro.ac.uk/departments/ac/tracey/found.html [Accessed 19 January 2010]

Although it might look easy, it is not entirely true. Just to spot them and their image potential require the ‘artist’s eye’. They make for great inspiration, especially for abstract painting and drawing, for mark making, and for own textural sources.

Another area of my study was Life drawing. This is my preferable approach as draw on my strengths, which is sketching, also because I feel more comfortable producing observational pieces rather then abstract.

This compared to ‘Found drawing’, I found similar as they are both very observational and although I am not physically producing the image, I am recognizing the composition just the same, only with different medium.

Another drawing approach ‘Automatic drawing’ found its way to my final piece for this project.

An “automatic” scribble of twisting and interlacing lines permits the germ of an idea in the subconscious mind to express, or at least suggest itself to the consciousness. (Spare, A. and Carter, F.) [Internet] Available from: http://www.hermetic.com/spare/auto_drawing.html [Accessed 20 January 2010]

To argue that, trying it with pen I produced several automatic drawings, but either I could not understand my subconscious or I was doing it wrong. On the other hand, I found it a good warm up exercise, as it helps overcome the fear of blank page.

The most prominent difference I found between the this approach and life drawing is that with life drawing I have certain amount of control over how the final piece will emerge, but with automatic drawing, there was almost no control.

Realizing I produced confident marks practicing this drawing technique, I used this practice to visualize my representation of the fungi, complicated underground organism. Using melted sugar and spoon I freed my mind and let my subconscious to produce marks on baking paper. Not thinking about how the final outcome should look like, I produced strong and confident marks what would not happen giving it careful consideration.

I mentioned these two drawing approaches because they were new and helpful to me the most in this particular project. Blind drawing, continues line, weaker hand, gesture drawing, etching and many others techniques practiced in this unit expanded my understanding of drawing as visual communication. My final outcome for this unit underlines the change of perception of my understanding of drawing, that drawing is not restricted to be two-dimensional.

Word count without bibliography and notes: 547

Bibliography:

Spare, A. and Carter, F. (n.d.) Automatic drawing [Online] Available from: http://www.hermetic.com/spare/auto_drawing.html [Accessed 20 January 2010]

Sawdon, P. (n.d.) Found drawings [Online] Available from: http://www.lboro.ac.uk/departments/ac/tracey/found.html [Accessed 19 January 2010]

Leave a Reply

